Why are WE treating an asexual relationship like heterosexual one

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Mystique
    Spectator

Once I realized I was an asexual I quickly understood that I was approaching a new paradigm. This relieved me. Asexuality transcends generation gaps, age differences, mating dances and sex directed conversation. I’m a newbie and still trying to understand the terms related to asexuality. By the way does any one know where I can get asexual definitions. Anyway, I feel since my motivation is not to end up in the bedroom per se, my friendships and partnership relationship potential and opportunities have significantly expanded.
    Since I’m an older asexual, I can easily be friends with younger people male or female without the stigma of sexual overtones. That is, I can take on the responsibility of being a mentor friend or a soul mate who is not restricted to just being a mentor but an activity partner as well.

First, I am analyzing my pass experiences as a heterosexual male seeking a relationship. And as I compare my attempts to make friends as an asexual I’m quickly understanding that it is quite different from pursuing a heterosexual relationship.